2013 Seminars

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Nathaniel Hendren | Harvard University

Private Information and Insurance Rejections

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Eric French | Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago

Medicaid Insurance in Old Age

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Vaidyanathan Venkateswaran | Penn State University

Pledgability and Liquidity: A New Monetarist Model of Financial and Macroeconomic Activity

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, March 11, 2013

Larry Christiano | Northwestern University

Unemployment and Business Cycles

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Luminita Stevens | University of Maryland

Price Adjustment in a Model with Multiple-Price Policies

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, March 25, 2013

Juan Pablo Nicolini | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Monetary Policy and the Quantity Theory of Money

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Andy Atkeson | UCLA

The Market for OTC Derivatives

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, March 28, 2013

Fernando Alvarez | University of Chicago

A Real Options Perspective on the Future of the Euro

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 2, 2013

Stijn Van Nieuwerburgh | NYU Stern School of Business

Firm Volatility in Granular Networks

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Max Gillman | Cardiff Business School

Deriving the Taylor Principle when the Central Bank Supplies Money

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, April 22, 2013

Chad Syverson | University of Chicago

Healthcare Exceptionalism? Productivity and Allocation in the U.S. Healthcare Sector

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Klaus Adam | Universitat Mannheim

Optimal Sovereign Default

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, May 6, 2013

Jim Schmitz | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

What Ever Happened to the Puerto Rican Sugar Manufacturing Industry?

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Fabian Lange | McGill University

Duration Dependence and Labor Market Conditions: Evidence from a Field Experiment

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Pablo D'Erasmo | University of Maryland, College Park

Capital Requirements in a Quantitative Model of Banking Industry Dynamics

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Saki Bigio | Columbia University

Model of Monetary Policy and Banking

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Erik Hurst | University of Chicago, Booth School of Business

Manufacturing Decline, Housing Booms, and Non-Employment

Applied Theory Workshop

Monday, June 3, 2013

Jonathan Levin | Stanford University

Sales Mechanisms in Online Markets: What Happened to Internet Auctions?

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Jim Schmitz | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

A Cost of Monopoly: Misallocation of Resources from High to Low Productivity Producers: Evidence form the New-Deal U.S. Sugar Manufacturing Cartel

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Melissa Dell | Harvard University

Trafficking Networks and the Mexican Drug War

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Lee Ohanian | UCLA

Mortgage Foreclosure Delay and U.S. Unemployment

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Andy Atkeson | UCLA

On the Aggregate Implications of Innovation Policy (Take 2)

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, July 19, 2013

Neil Wallace | Pennsylvania State University

An Alternative to New-Keynesian Models for the Study of Optimal (Monetary) Policy

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, July 29, 2013

Xavier Gabaix | Stern School of Business, New York University

A Sparsity-Based Model of Bounded Rationality, with Application to Basic Consumer and Equilibrium Theory

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Julia Thomas | Ohio State University

Credit Shocks and Aggregate Fluctuations in an Economy with Production Heterogeneity

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, August 9, 2013

Aubhik Khan | Ohio State University

Default Risk and Aggregate Fluctuations in an Economy with Production Heterogeneity

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, August 20, 2013

E. Glen Weyl | University of Chicago

Quadratic Vote Buying

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Jesus Fernandez-Villaverde | University of Pennsylvania

Fiscal Volatility Shocks and Economic Activity

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, September 5, 2013

Mark Aguiar | Princeton University

Take the Short Route: How to Repay Sovereign Debt with Multiple Maturities

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, September 9, 2013

Rodolfo Manuelli | Washington University in St. Louis

Immigration and Human Capital

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, September 10, 2013

Pete Klenow | Stanford University

Entry Costs Rise with Development

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

George-Marios Angeletos | MIT and University of Zurich

Quantifying Sentiments

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Ilse Lindenlaub | European University Institute

Sorting Multidimensional Types

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

David Berger | Northwestern University

Volatility and Pass-Through

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Miklos Koren | Central European University

Lumpy Trade and the Welfare Effects of Administrative Barriers

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, October 3, 2013

Francisco Buera (Joint with Juan Pablo Nicolini) | Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago

Liquidity Traps and Monetary Policy: Managing a Credit Crunch

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Matteo Maggiori | New York University, Stern School of Business

International Liquidity and Exchange Rate Dynamics

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Marco Bonomo | Insper Institute of Education and Research

An Estimated Price Setting Model with Partial Information and Costly Adjustments

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, October 28, 2013

Harald Uhlig | University of Chicago

Sovereign Default Risk and Banks in a Monetary Union

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Hengjie Ai | Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota

A Mechanism Design Model of Firm Dynamics: The Case of Limited Commitment

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Bernabe Lopez-Martin | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota

From Firm Productivity Dynamics to Aggregate Efficiency

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Rudolfs Bems | IMF

Income-Induced Expenditure Switching

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Ana Babus | Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago

Trading and Information Diffusion in OTC Markets

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, November 14, 2013

Illenin Kondo | Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

Inflation, Debt, and Default

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, November 15, 2013

Gabriel Carroll | Stanford University

Robust Incentive Contracting

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, November 18, 2013

Alberto Martin | Centre de Recerca en Economia Internacional

Managing Financial Bubbles

Applied Theory Workshop

Friday, November 22, 2013

John Cochrane | University of Chicago, Booth School of Business

The New-Keynesian Liquidity Trap

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, November 25, 2013

Sebastian Sotelo Rebagliati | University of Chicago

Trade Frictions and Agricultural Productivity

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Vanessa Alviarez | University of Michigan

Multinational Production and Comparative Advantage

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, December 2, 2013

Jorge Lorca | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota

Political Budget Cycles, Information and Development

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, December 9, 2013

Kevin Williams | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota

Dynamic Airline Pricing and Seat Availability

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, December 12, 2013

Luigi Bocola | University of Pennsylvania

The Pass-Through of Sovereign Risk

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, December 16, 2013

Satyajit Chatterjee | Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia

Continuous Markov Perfect Equilibrium in Quasi-geometric Discounting Model with Lotteries

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Laura Sunder-Plassmann | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota

Inflation, Default and the Denomination of Sovereign Debt

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Andrea Waddle | Federal Reserve Bank of Mpls & University of Minnesota

Trade, Technology, and the Skill Premium: The Case of Mexico