2010 Seminars

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Hal Cole | University of Pennsylvania

The International Great Depression Money, Productivity, or Labor Market Policies?

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Veronica Guerrieri | University of Chicago Booth School of Business

Endogenous Gentrification and Housing Price Dynamics

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, February 4, 2010

Noah Williams | University of Wisconsin-Madison

Persistent Private Information

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, February 11, 2010

Jonathan Heathcote | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Redistributive Taxation in a Partial-Insurance Economy

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, February 12, 2010

David Rahman | University of Minnesota

But Who Will Monitor the Monitor?

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, February 26, 2010

Guido Lorenzoni | Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Decentralized Trading with Private Information

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

Anamaria (Felicia) Ionescu | Colgate University

Insuring College Failure Risk, joint with Satyajit Chatterjee

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, March 11, 2010

Motohiro Yogo | The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

Portfolio Choice in Retirement: Health Risk and the Demand for Annuities, Housing, and Risky Assets

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Ariel Zetlin-Jones | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Reputation and Sudden Collapse in Secondary Loan Markets

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Jay Hong | University of Rochester

Labor Supply, Endogenous Wage Dynamics and Tax Policy

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Francisco Buera | UCLA

Self-Insurance vs. Self-Financing: A Welfare Analysis of the Persistence of Shocks

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, April 1, 2010

Paul Klein | University of Western Ontario

Consumption Risk Sharing Under Private Information When Earnings are Persistent

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 6, 2010

Cyril Monnet | Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia

The Emergence and Future of Central Counterparties

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Michelle Rendall | Institute for Empirical Research in Economics, University of Zurich

Rise of the Service Sector and Women's Market Work: Europe vs. U.S.

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Philipp Kircher | University of Pennsylvania and University of Oxford

The U-Shapes of Occupational Mobility

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, April 19, 2010

Martin Lettau | University of California at Berkeley

Consumption and Wealth Dynamics

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Ricardo Nunes | Federal Reserve Board

Political Disagreement, Lack of Commitment and the Level of Debt

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, April 30, 2010

Juan Carlos Conesa | Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona

Intergenerational Policy and the Measurement of Tax Incidence

Applied Theory Workshop

Monday, May 10, 2010

Markus Brunnermeier | Princeton University

A Macroeconomic Model with a Financial Sector

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Mark Aguiar | University of Rochester

Has Consumption Inequality Mirrored Income Inequality

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Erick Hurst | University of Chicago

The Non-Pecuniary Benefits of Small Business Ownership

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Guido Lorenzoni | MIT

Credit Crises, Precautionary Savings, and Liquidity Trap

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, June 4, 2010

Jeremy Lise | University College London

Matching, Sorting and Wages

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Andres Rodriguez-Clare | Pennsylvania State University

TBA

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, June 11, 2010

Randy Wright and Lucy Liu | University of Wisconsin and IMF

Banking: A Mechanism Design Approach

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Pete Klenow | Stanford University

Beyond GDP? Welfare Across Countries and Time

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Martin Oehmke | Columbia University

The Maturity Rat Race

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, July 22, 2010

Juan Pablo Nicolini | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Policy at the Zero Bound

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Guillermo Ordonez | Yale University

Confidence Banking

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Ben Lester | University of Western Ontario

Trading Dynamics in Decentralized Markets with Adverse Selection

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Tarek Hassan | University of Chicago - Booth School of Business

The Social Cost of Near-Rational Investment: Why We Should Worry About Volatile Stock Markets

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, September 10, 2010

Victor Rios-Rull | Federal Reserve Bank of Mpls & University of Minnesota

Demand Shocks as Productivity Shocks

Applied Theory Workshop

Thursday, September 30, 2010

Yuriy Gorodnichenko | University of California, Berkeley

What can Survey Forecasts Tell Us about the Informational Rigidities?" and "Information Rigidity and the Expectations Formation Process: A Simple Framework and New Facts

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 5, 2010

Alessandra Voena | Stanford University

Yours, Mine and Ours: Do Divorce Laws Influence the Intertemporal Behavior of Married Couples?

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Kei-Mu Yi | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Structural Change in an Open Economy

Applied Theory Workshop

Friday, October 15, 2010

Lasse Heje Pedersen | Stern School of Business NYU

Two Monetary Tools: Interest Rates and Haircuts

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Cosmin Ilut | Duke University

Ambiguity Aversion: Implications for the Uncovered Interest Rate Parity Puzzle

Bag Lunch Seminar

Friday, October 22, 2010

Xavier Mateos-Planas | Queen Mary University of London

Consumer Default with Complete Markets

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, October 25, 2010

Machiko Narita | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota

Complex Mortgages, Income Processes, and Distribution of Homeownership

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Pedro Teles | Banco de Portugal

Short and Long Interest Rate Targets

Applied Theory Workshop

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Robert Shimer | University of Chicago

Wage Rigidities and the Propagation of Shocks

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, October 28, 2010

Benjamin Moll | Princeton University

Productivity Losses from Financial Frictions: Can Self-Financing Undo Capital Misallocation?

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Futoshi Narita | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota

Hidden Actions, Risk Taking, and Financial Crises

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Andrew Glover | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota

A Quantitative Theory of Darwinian Labor Dynamics

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, November 15, 2010

Todd Keister | Federal Reserve Bank of New York

Bailouts and Financial Fragility

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Matteo Iacoviello | Board of Governors

Housing and Debt Over the Life Cycle and Over the Business Cycle

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Nancy Stokey | University of Chicago

Monetary Shocks in an Economy with Circulating Capital

Applied Theory Workshop

Friday, December 3, 2010

Philippe Martin | Sciences Pro

How do Different Exporters React to Exchange Rate Changes?

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Richard Braun | Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

Real Balance Effects When the Nominal Interest Rate is Zero

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, December 9, 2010

Eric Sims | Notre Dame University

Reallocation and the Changing Nature of Economic Fluctuations

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, December 13, 2010

Konstantin Golyaev | University of Minnesota

The Impact of the Community Reinvestment Act on the Home Mortgage Lending Industry in California

Bag Lunch Seminar

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Jennifer La'O | University of Chicago

Dispersed Information over the Business Cycle: Optimal Fiscal and Monetary Policy

Bag Lunch Seminar

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Nicholas Bloom | Stanford University

Really Uncertain Business Cycles

Bag Lunch Seminar

Thursday, December 16, 2010

Yenan Hou | University of Minnesota

Export Diversification and Output Volatility

Applied Theory Workshop

Friday, December 17, 2010

Randy Wright | University of Wisconsin, Madison

Liquidity and Asset Market Dynamics

Bag Lunch Seminar

Monday, December 20, 2010

Ali Shourideh | Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and University of Minnesota

Optimal Taxation of Capital Income: A Mirrleesian Approach to Capital Accumulation